top of page
Search
  • Anna Campbell

Starting a Blog

I consider myself to be a very private person. I keep a lot inside of myself for the fear of being misunderstood and the simplicity of not saying anything at all. Like all humans, we want to be heard and we want to be loved, which seems simple enough. But so much more comes with it; vulnerability being at the top of the list of struggles for me. And that is exactly why I am here today starting a blog, sharing my vulnerabilities and triumphs through writing and what I've learned along the way.


Last summer I began my journey to conscious living, starting with my discovery of the zero waste movement and the negative impact humans have been making on this planet. This then lead to the beginning of my journey with veganism and intake of information about intentional living. I saw examples of people living lives that I desire on Youtube, such as Sedona Christina, Ellen Fisher, Kate Flowers, Meghan Hughes, and many others. These humans inspired me to go deeper into myself and what I want my life to truly look like, instead of simply coasting through life on autopilot.


This past year has been hugely transitional and transformative for me. I entered into my first year of college in an intensive theater program at a small school in Boston. I spent my days very independently, learning to rely on myself for everything I want and need, which was highly beneficial, while also being really lonely. I stayed in my own head most days and had a hard time connecting with others on a deeper level, which was difficult but helped me to learn a lot about myself. Throughout my introspective year, I realized the theater program I was in was not what I wanted. My entire life thus far had been focused on theater and acting and how I could make it my career. But despite my love for the art, I realized I didn't really know myself when separated from it. And I found myself all year in a headspace that was no longer theater oriented. I learned that I am so curious to learn about the world around me and I don't want to stay in that small box theater has put me in anymore. So I made the decision to take a leave of absence from college and take a year to really focus on myself, through exploration, travel, introspection, connection, nutrition, and mindful living.


And that leads me to today. I have moved out of my dorm room and into a hut on an off the grid fruit farm in Pahoa, Hawai'i. Here I am kicking off my year by getting back to myself, away from societal pressures and the stress of the world, living in nature and revelling in its beauty. Here I have the time to focus on my writing and the creation of this blog, and I am so excited to see where it takes me. More exciting posts and thoughts from me to come!

Photo taken by my friend Hazuki at the nearby lava flow of lower Puna on the Big Island that took place last year. The lava completely took over the road and many people's homes and properties. It was quite surreal to see this vast amount of land that now is nothing but lava rock. It provided an great sense tranquility, like time seemed to stop entirely.



99 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page